Log me on automatically each visit

Problems signing in?

Register

Forum index -   Wanna buy: HELP ME ! 2004 1000ds
Lonestar
No Multistrada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:47 pm Reply with quote

Hi everyone !

First post here ; ) Anyway I need a little guidence please. I am brand new to the motorbike world. I am no stranger to speed and have been wanting a Ducati for a while now. I have mostly been looking at early 2000 Monster 620 or 750.....But...I have found a black 2004 Multi that appears to be in great shape for $2000. I was susspicious of the price untill I found out hes in the Army and has been mobolized for Afghanistan so he needs it gone fast !

I love how the bike looks with the single sided swingarm but im indiffernt about the front fairing with the windsheild...I like the naked monster look better. But the price seems damn good. I have found on line people modding their Multi to a more street fighter look which I like, but im guess thats major $$$$$

Anyway, any thoughts ? Thanks

Think
lotus54
MTS: 2005 1000S DS (Red)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 1:57 pm Reply with quote

If you can do the work yourself, modding to a more 'naked' look doesn't have to cost a lot. But can be a lot of work, depending on what you are going for.
Ii did some fairly major mods on the rear of mine (front maybe this winter).

I'd take it to a good shop that knows Ducatis well and pay for a checkout. If the valve guides are worn or something it can be an expensive fix, unless you can do it yourself.

mark

Last edited by lotus54 on Mon Nov 01, 2010 11:50 am; edited 2 times in total

Beta XTrainer 300
Lonestar
No Multistrada

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 5:55 pm Reply with quote

cool thanks, forgot to mention but it has about 6000 miles on the clock. To me this seems low. Can things be worn at this stage ? If everything works out does this seem like a good price ? Thanks
cagiva900gc
MTS: 2004 1000 DS (Red)

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2010 6:30 pm Reply with quote

Lonestar wrote: