Password:

Log me on automatically each visit

Problems signing in?

Register

Forum index -   Wanna buy: Considering A Multi
duc-dog
MTS: Not specified

PostPosted: Sun Mar 25, 2007 12:49 pm Reply with quote

Ran across this site the other day. I've read a few posts here and there and it looks like a great site and a good place place for some information and feedback. I have been riding bikes for 36 years although the last number of years found myself too busy to ride. I sold my beloved Z1-R a few years ago (which I owned since new) to a collector overseas. Since then it seems something has been missing in my garage. Over the last year I have been doing some research on what type of bike to buy should I jump back in. The Multi seems to be at the top of the list. Other considerations are Yami FZ1, 07 Triumph Tiger, Buell Ulysses although I did some saddle time on the Uly and the limited steering lock is undesirable.

I would be doing a multitude of different riding and the most off road would be a gravel road in all likelyhood. Being from Canada bike would be used 6 months of the year only. I have looked at the 07 and from my research it has bigger displacement, slightly more hp and torque, wet clutch, better fuel guage, anti vide Hbar mounts and perhaps a few other goodies. The S model I don't think would be worth the extra coin for me. The other consideration is a new non current. I have found a new 04, and a new 06 S model. Used machines around here seem non existent. I have only seen one of these on the road over the last few years. I think I would like to stay 05 or newer and would seriously look at the 06 with Ohlins over the 07 (06 is cheaper too) Is there enough with the 07 to grab one over an 06? As far as maintenance intervals I see they have been reduced seems due to performance and stats over the years. Thus could one follow the 07 maintenance schedule on an 05 or 06?